## **CHAPTER 3**

## **BOUNDARIES**

3.01 Corporate Limits

3.02 Division Into Wards

## **3.01 CORPORATE LIMITS.** The corporate limits of the City are described as follows:

All that territory lying in Township Seventy-four North, Range Three West of the 5th Principal Meridian, described as follows: Commencing in the middle of the main channel of the Iowa River, opposite Pleasant Street in England's Addition to Wapello, thence west to Water Street, thence north on the east side of Water Street to Mills Street, thence along the west side of the Wapello Mill Race until it intersects the section line between Sections Twenty-two and Twenty-seven, in said township, thence west with said section line to the northwest corner of said Section Twenty-seven, also being the northeast corner of Section Twenty-eight, thence North 90° 00' West 1,318.60 feet; thence South 00°55' East 937.20 feet, thence South 52°38' East 714.78 feet; thence 300.00 feet along the arc of a 3,048.68 foot radius curve concave southwesterly with a 300.06 foot chord bearing South 50°21' East, thence North 89°22' East 530.55 feet to the section line between Sections Twenty-eight and Twenty-seven, thence south with the section line to the southwest corner of Section Twentyseven, thence south eighty rods, thence east to the middle of the main channel of the Iowa River, thence up said main channel to the place of beginning.

and

The Southeast Quarter of the Northwest Quarter except highway; and the East Half of the Southwest Quarter of the Northwest Quarter except ditch. All in Section Thirty-four, Township 74 North, Range Three West, Louisa County, Iowa, containing sixty acres more or less.

and

Parcel "F" in the Northeast Quarter of Section 34, Township 74 North, Range 3 West of the 5<sup>th</sup> P.M., Louisa County, Iowa, as recorded in Surveyor Book 10, Page 69, Office of the Recorder of Louisa County, Iowa.

- **3.02 DIVISION INTO WARDS.** The City is divided into three (3) wards and three (3) separate precincts described as follows:
  - 1. Ward One, which is Precinct One. The first ward includes all that portion lying between the north boundary of the City from the northwest corner of the City boundary continuing south along the west City boundary to County Road G62, then east to Highway 61, continuing east on Townsend Avenue to the intersection of North Cedar Street, then south on North Cedar Street to the intersection of Isett Avenue, then east on Isett Avenue, which turns into Van Buren Street, continuing east on Van Buren Street to the intersection of North Water Street, then south on North Water Street to the intersection of Franklin Street, also known as Highway 99, then east on Franklin Street, also known as Highway 99, to the east City boundary line.

CHAPTER 3 BOUNDARIES

2. Ward Two, which is Precinct Two. The second ward includes all that portion lying south of the first ward from the intersection of Highway 61 and Townsend Avenue continuing south on Highway 61 to the intersection of Washington Street, then east on Washington Street to the intersection of South 7<sup>th</sup> Street, then south on South 7<sup>th</sup> Street to the intersection of Vernon Street, then east on Vernon Street to the intersection of Fred Brown Street, then south on South 4<sup>th</sup> Street, then east on Fred Brown Street to the intersection of South Main Street, then south on South Main Street to Oak Street, then east on Oak Street to the intersection of J Avenue, then south on J Avenue to south City boundary, then east along south City boundary to southeast City boundary line.

3. Ward Three, which is Precinct Three. The third ward includes all that portion south and west of the above stated second ward to the southern City boundary line.

[The next page is 17]